Purple Cap Holder In IPL || Full list of Purple Cap Winner In Every Season

Undoubtedly, Cricket is the most loved game in India.IPL is more than a cricket league, it is an emotion felt by every Indian cricket fan and it’s rightly called ‘India Ka tyohar'(Indian festival). However IPL is not only loved in India, but it is celebrated all over the cricketing nations and lovers in the world. This tournament has numerous awards for the players who put all they have got and perform really well and outshines all the others. One of those is the Purple Cap.

Purple Cap is presented to the bowler with the most wickets in the IPL season. Purple Cap was inaugurated in IPL’s very first season on 13 May 2008. In other words, the bowler with the highest number of wickets would wear the Purple Cap while fielding during the course of the tournament.

[table id=15 /]

Here is the list of every champion bowler (purple cap holder in IPL )from all the past seasons of the IPL

Imran Tahir (2019)

IPL purple cap holder 2019

The South African spinner played a major role in forging CSK into the final of IPL 2019. Tahir took 26 wickets in 17 games at an economy rate of 6.69 and with the ability to strike at crucial times made him the recipient of the Purple Cap. In addition to his bowling, his trademark running celebration is also enjoyed by everyone.

Andrew Tye(2018)

With a great start to the tournament, the king’s failed to capitalize and lost the momentum somewhere in the middle. Their journey was full of individual performance but failed as a unit. One of the most acknowledging performance was of the Australian fast bowler Andrew Tye. The seamer took 24 wickets in his 14 matches including three four-wicket hauls and managed to clinch the Purple Cap after a disappointing season.


IPL Purple Cap Holder 2017

Bhuvi is the only bowler in the history of IPL to win the Purple cap consecutively for two seasons. The Indian king of swing had a golden tournament in which he picked 26 in 14 matches.


IPL Purple Cap Holder 2016

The Indian fast bowler performed exceptionally well that led his team to their first-ever title victory. Bhuvneshwar grabbed 23 wickets from 16 games and was economical throughout the tournament, thereby clinching the winner’s trophy and the Purple Cap.

Dwayne Bravo(2015)

IPL Purple Cap Holder 2015

The Windies all-rounder is one of the greatest players of the format with deadly yorkers and under pressure slower balls. Bravo is a 2 times purple cap holder in ipl. Bravo is a champion performer for CSK and in the 2015 season and grabbed a total of 24 wickets in just 16 matches to win the Purple Cap for the second. He is the only overseas cricketer to achieve this extraordinary feat.

Mohit Sharma (2014)


This talent was also nurtured and prepared by MS.Dhoni who placed his trust and Mohit rewarded him well. The Indian seamer performed well and picked 23 wickets from 16 matches to win the Purple Cap that season.

Dwayne Bravo(2013)

IPL Purple Cap Holder 2013

The Windies all-rounder is one of the greatest players of the format and an absolute champion for his team. All his contribution has made CSK a dominant and consistent team . Bravo bagged 32 wickets in just 18 matches which is a record for most wickets in a season, therefore, clinching the Purple Cap.

Morne Morkel (2012)

The South African fast bowler performed exceptionally well with the bowl and took his team to the playoffs. Morkel bagged 25 wickets in 16 matches and clinched Purple Cap for the respective season.

Lasith Malinga (2011)

IPL Purple Cap Holder 2011

The Sri-Lankan yorker king is one of the all-time greats that the game has ever witnessed. His ability to bowl Yorkers and slower deliveries have made him a great bowler of the format. He bagged 28 wickets in 16 matches in the tournament and took home the Purple Cap with him.

7 Ipl Records That Are Difficult To Break

P Ojha(2010)

The Indian left-arm spinner was at a personal best and was full of confidence and performing consistently well for his team. He grabbed 21 wickets in 16 matches and clinched the Purple Cap.

RP Singh(2009)

RP Singh bagged 23 wickets from 16 matches during their victorious campaign and shelled runs at an economy rate of only 6.98 and led his team to the first-ever title win and also clinched the Purple Cap.

Sohail  Tanvir(2008)

This was the first inaugural season of the IPL which also featured Pakistani players for the first and last time. The left-arm fast bowler played exceptionally well and picked 22 wickets in 11 matches and led his team to the first-ever IPL title and the clinched the first-ever Purple Cap.