WWE Raw Tag Team Championship Belt

WWE Raw Tag Team Championship Belt

WWE Raw Tag Team Championship was established on 20th October 2002 as WWE Tag Team Championship and was created by the American promotion of WWE. This belt is considered as one of three main tag team championships for males among all three divisions WWE Raw, WWE SmackDown, and WWE NXT. The inaugural champions of this title were the team of Kurt Angle and Chris Benoit.

WWE Raw Tag Team Championship Belt

This is our 3rd Article of Different WWE Championship Belt Series You can check about other articles,

WWE Raw Women’s Championship Belt

Some of the basic details of WWE Raw Tag Team Championship Belt are:

Date Established: 20th October 2002

Promotion: WWE

Division: Raw

Current Champion: The Street Profits (Angelo Dawkins and Montez Ford)

Date Won: 2nd March 2020

WWE Raw Tag Team championship

Who Won WWE Raw Tag Team Champion For First Time??

Kurt Angle and Chris Benoit were the first WWE Tag Team Champions. They defeated Rey Mysterio and Edge in the finals of Eight Team Tournament at No Mercy on 20th October 2002. But after some time, they both became rivals of each other for the WWE Championship at Royal Rumble in 2003 in which Kurt Angle defeated Chris Benoit by submission. Therefore, this match is considered as one of the greatest matches in WWE’s history.

Who Won  For Most Number Of Times??

The most number of reigns of WWE Raw Tag Team Championship as a tag team was made by Cesaro and Sheamus by winning the title for 4-times and as an individual was made by Seth Rollins by winning the title for 6-times. Cesaro and Sheamus were also 1-time WWE SmackDown Tag Team Champions. Seth Rollins had made many records and has won almost every title in his career.

Stats of Raw Tag Team Championship

First Champion(s)Kurt Angle and Chris Benoit
Youngest ChampionNicholas (10 Years)
Oldest ChampionBilly Gunn(50 Years)
Heaviest ChampionBig Show and Kane
(808 lbs combined)
Lightest ChampionPaul London and Brian Kendrick(365 lbs combined)
Most ReignsAs Individual :Seth Rollins(6)
As Tag Team: Cesaro and Sheamus(4)
Longest ReignThe New Day (483 days)
Shortest ReignJohn Cena and The Miz(9 mins)

Who Won This Championship For Longest Time??

The tag team to hold WWE Raw Tag Team Championship for the longest time is The New Day (team of Big E, Kofi Kingston, and Xavier Woods). They held the title for 483-days which is the longest reign of holding any tag team title in WWE’s history. They also hold the record of winning WWE SmackDown Tag Tea Championship for the most number of times,i.e, 6-times. Above all, they are overall 8-times tag-team champions.

Who Won This Championship For Shortest Time??

The record of WWE Raw Tag Team Championship for the shortest time was made by John Cena and The Miz which is 9-minutes by defeating Justin Gabriel and Heath Slater. However, they had also fought with each other. At WrestleMania 27 for the WWE Championship in which The Miz defeated John Cena and defended his title.

Check about others Top 5 WWE Champions Who Held 2 Different Belts At The Same Time