WWE Championship Belt

Full Details Of WWE Championship Belt || Most Popular Belt Of WWE

WWE Championship Belt is one of the biggest championship title which was created by the American Professional Wrestling Association to promote WWE and it was first established on 25th April 1963 as the name of WWWF World Heavyweight Championship and it is the oldest championship which is defended currently under the WWE Raw division.

The name of this belt had been changed so many times. List down below:

  • WWF World Heavyweight Championship (1983-1989)
  • WWF Championship (1989-2001)
  • WWE World Championship (2016)
  • WWE Undisputed Championship (2002)
  • Undisputed WWE Championship (2002)
  • Undisputed WWF Championship (2001-2002)
  • WWE Championship (2002-2013, 2016-present)
  • WWE World Heavyweight Championship (2013-2016)
  • WWF Heavyweight Championship (1979-1983)
  • WWWF Heavyweight Championship (1971-1979)
  • WWWF Heavyweight Championship (1963-1971)

WWE Championship Belt

Some of the basic details of this title are as follows:

Date Established: 25th April 1963

Promotion: WWE

Current Divison: Raw

Current Champion: Drew McIntyre

Date Won: 25th March 2020


 Who Won WWE Championship Belt For the First Time ??

Buddy Rogers was the first WWE Superstar who won WWE Championship Belt and was awarded as WWWF World Heavyweight Champion supposedly by defeating Antonino Rocca in the finals of a fictional tournament in Rio de Janerio in 1963.

  Who Won WWE Championship Belt for Most Number Of Times??

John Cena is the only WWE Superstar who held the WWE Championship for most no. of times. John Cena became WWE Champion 16 times in his career. At WrestleMania in 2005, John Cena defeated JBL to become WWE World Heavyweight Champion for the first time in his career.

WWE Championship Belt

  Who Held WWE Championship for Longest Time??

Bruno Sammartino is the only WWE Superstar to hold the WWE Championship for the longest time and created a history by holding the WWWF World Heavyweight Championship for 4040 days(more than 11 years) in his two reigns. The first reign of holding this title is the longest single reign ever in WWE’s history which is 2803 days.

  Who Held WWE Championship for Shortest Time??

The record of holding WWE Championship for the shortest time is 1 minute, 48 seconds and this record was made by Andre the Giant. This record was made on 5th February 1988 by defeating Hulk Hogan and then handed it over to Ted DiBiase.

[table id=10 /]

In addition, You can also read Top 5 WWE Champions Who Held 2 Different Belts At The Same Time

This is the first article  of our upcoming series Different Championship Belts.Hope You enjoy this.

For more info: More Info